American Equity Investment Life reviews

Read insurance company reviews by the insurance experts at UsInsureQuotes.com. Please feel free to add your comments and rating to those already found at the end of each review.

Comments (15)

6 months ago

"Indexed annuities are as bad as the 60 Minutes segment says they are and American Equity Investment Life Insurance Company is awful."

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"the fixed indexed annuities are smoke & mirror scams"

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"I am very happy with my American Equity Annuity. Despite many efforts to malign this company and its agents, I have had no problems making withdrawals, ect.. While the stock market has tanked, I have not lost a nickle. No doubt my money is tied up for many years (17), but I knew that when I purchased the policy. I have a very good agent and if we are to complain about anything, it should be about wall street and all their shenanigans. "

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"I responded "Definitely not" to q. 5 because I am 79 and my contract with American Equity is an annuity that will not mature for more years than I anticipate being here. My penalty free annual withdrawal covers my larger expenditures (auto insurance, home insurance)."

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"I was sent the agent after what I think was an AARP senior meeting on finance. I showed him my total finances not realizing he was there to sell me whatever he could get. He was very nice. To get out of this company once you are in is very costly. Never would I do this again! "

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"I have had an annuity with American Equity for just over a year. Recently, I had a family emergency. I contacted my agent and he was able to get half of my money without any cost to me. My account also did not lose any money this past year. I am so happy I got out of the stock market! "

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"Finally a company that gives me a predictable retirement income. "

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"This company does NOT respect its clients! It releases confidential information on clients without their consent and changes agents on a whim. If you value your personal information or your client/agent relationship, do NOT do business or risk your money with them!"

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"I have had the policies for 6 years and have excercised the withdrawal option 2 times with much consternation. I am 81 now and want to do more and can't get to my money without a huge penalty for another 10 years. I don't think I will be able to do the things I want to do now in 10nyears. Shame on the company and the agent who sold it to me - who I have not seen in 6 years..."

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"Company changes payout policy without notice and in their favor. Considering a lawsuit. Do yourself a favor - stay away!"

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  
Next page
Or use your account on Blog

Error message here!

Hide Error message here!

Forgot your password?

Or register your new account on Blog

Error message here!

Error message here!

Hide Error message here!

Lost your password? Please enter your email address. You will receive a link to create a new password.

Error message here!

Back to log-in

Close