American Family Insurance reviews

Read insurance company reviews by the insurance experts at UsInsureQuotes.com. Please feel free to add your comments and rating to those already found at the end of each review.

Comments (247)

6 months ago

"We shopped when credit based insurance scores were recently released by American Family, turns out, every company out there utilizes credit scoring-- Solid agent, solid claims service...sounds like folks with credit problems are a little bitter. Don't borrow money you can't pay back--quit blaming everyone else for your own stupidity."

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"Rude claim agent who fought with the cleanup company and insisted on reusing damaged trim and flooring after water damage. Low-balled everything and stonewalled. No response from customer service and agent disappeared at first indication of problems."

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"very helpful with claims, especially when fighting for payment from liberty mutual and their lousy claims representatives!!!!!"

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"After being a loyal customer for 10 years American Family is cancelling our policy and offering a higher premium even though we have lived in this manufactured home on ten acres with livestock. Its a total evil shame."

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"I never got beyond the quote with this incredibly weird company. First the agent said he could get me auto insurance for about $300+ as he wrote a policy for his mother 5 years older then me for that, he quoted $700.00 to me with never a ticket or accident. Next: The homeowners insurance. The quote was average (I already had 5 others). Then said he would have to take pictures of the outside of my house. Gut feeling said stop! but I ignored it. He took the pictures of my house, yard, & roof & began nosing around, checking my fuse box, indirectly asking if my sewing machine was used for a business. Next I get an email telling me I had to provide my old insurance policy "to prove" I had insurance. That did it. In 40 years no insurance agent had ever been as intrusive as this jerk. I suspect he was following the company manual to the letter. Forewarned is for-armed."

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"Love my agent, hate my ins. adjuster. Had severe water damage, policy covers me to replace at current pricing. Adjuster said they'd cover everything. Gave me a $12,000 check right away and told me to submit quotes for the rest of the work needed to be done, and more money would be "no problem". The total of repairs is about $27,000.00, which comes to $13,000 additional which I need because I can't start the project without it. The few times she answered my calls her response is always "Don't worry,additional money is no problem. I didn't know your damage was so extensive when I cut the check and did the estimates. We'll give you what you need. Go ahead and get started." My damage is such that I can't get started unless I know that the additional funds will be here. She hasn't returned calls or come up with any money and it's been a month since the initial check. She hasn't even come back to see the additional damage that was discovered. My floors were all pulled out, my walls are all cut into. I have asthma (which I told the adjuster) and the dust and dirt is making my asthma worse. I'm living in terrible conditions, most people would have gone to a hotel and stayed put until the repairs were finished. But not me. No, I wanted to be considerate of AM FAM. I didn't want to "take advantage" of them. "We're here for you. We'll take good care of you" they all say when they want to sign you up. But the real truth is in the results. Right now I'm very close to contacting the insurance commission in Washington state where I live. "American" Family is a bunch of crap. The very name is an insult to America."

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"I was actually refused insurance by this company because I filed a $2700 claim with another insurance company. My furnace caught fire and I risked injury putting it out to save my house and the insurance company thousand of dollars more. Why would one get insurance if they are punished for using it? This company is greedy and I would stay far away. "

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"Company took forever to get claim filed and processed. Had to wait several weeks until I even heard news of whether my car was totaled and then another few months before a settlement arrived. "

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"We have been trying to cancel our auto policy with American Family since February of this year. We have called every branch and level within American Family and they still haven't cancelled our policy but they reassured us that this matter had been taken care of. Yeah right they keep sending us a bill demanding payment for a policy we terminated. They have now turned us over to collections because of their inability to maintain their accounts correctly. Luckily we saved every email letter and phone bill to prove we have made all these attempts to cancel and American Family can't seem to get their lousy computer systems or brain dead employees to get the hint that we don't want their policy anymore Now we have to involve our current auto insurance carrier and a lawyer to clear stupid crap off our credit bureau all because someone doesn't know how to hit the "cancel" button at American Family. Thanks American Family for the major hardship you have caused us. Never again"

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"Very good claims service when needed rates seem fair over the long haul of two teenagers."

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  
Next page
Or use your account on Blog

Error message here!

Hide Error message here!

Forgot your password?

Or register your new account on Blog

Error message here!

Error message here!

Hide Error message here!

Lost your password? Please enter your email address. You will receive a link to create a new password.

Error message here!

Back to log-in

Close