Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield reviews

Read insurance company reviews by the insurance experts at UsInsureQuotes.com. Please feel free to add your comments and rating to those already found at the end of each review.

Comments (160)

6 months ago

"The group plan I had that was good except it expired and the new individual policy is terrible. The lists of in network doctors is worthless. Customer service is filled with conflicting information. I have no idea if anything I need will be covered. Fortunately the majority of my cancer was under the old group plan. I had anal cancer so I attest to how painful having your anus and genitals burned is and its more painful having to deal with this company. I will probably die of stress first. My two options for a difficult polyp surgery is one doctor who isn't accepting patients or a 70 year old guy ready to retire. I'm not holding my breath that my 'continuation of care referral' will go through. I will get as many financial institutions to write off charges because Anthem's individual plans are designed to never let you find a doctor or count on reimbursement when you do. Prior authorization for prescriptions is a joke. You can only get a 30 day supply at the retail level. Mail order is at least two weeks. Its cheaper to just pay out of pocket with a coupon. Also the list of in network doctors includes the public health department....I'm paying $751.00 a month for this."

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"professional customer service"

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"I'm very satisfied so far with my coverage "

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"My preferred hospital was out-of-network. The in-network hospital that they told me to go to for my procedure was the last place I wanted to go. But I needed the procedure done, so I went. They were denying my claims because their in-network hospital was using out-of-network doctors. Even though the hospital confirmed Anthem approved my procedure. I need one more procedure done, but will wait until I have a new/better insurance company>>The best was when I needed an ultrasound. I called their customer service to get the closest in-network provider from my home. I called the first one the CSR gave me. It was a nursing home. >"

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"They have raised the premium by close to 200. They have not come up with a contract with Walgreens so I wouldnt be able to get my prescriptions there after January 1 2011"

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"I had a baby in 2012. With Anthem my total out of pocket from start to finish 9 months was over 6k. Yes over 6k I had to pay WITH insurance. Insurance that we pay 170 a WEEK for. Sure they claim my deductible is only 3k but they find loopholes to not pay. Every ultrasound I had even the first to see due date was deemed "not medically necessary." They only cover independent labs so fine... Until one of those labs gave me double the glucose necessary for the glucose test and made me so sick I had to be hospitalized... And guess who paid for those bills? ME Even using the independent labs I was billed for certain labs due to those not being "medically necessary." My obgyn actually called Anthem and got them to cover a few things but not much. ONE THING THEY DID PAY IN FULL... My tubal ligation. Of course having my tubes tied was completely covered. The only thing in the two years we've had them. My son had tonsils out that cost me 900. I had an ER visit once and had no idea that costs 350 just to walk in... Luckily the hospital charged me what I owed without running the insurance so I only paid 127 instead of the 350 copay. Yea. Anthem rocks "

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"not enough agents during open enrollment "

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"They are the worst I've ever had. They love taking your money but never want to pay for any services. I've had a sinus problem for over 20yrs and finally decided to have an outpatient surgery to fix it. They denied the surgery due to "failed conservative methods" I've taken every nasal spray known with no success. And they told me this the day the surgery was scheduled. They are lazy uninformed dont return calls. They are only out to make a buck."

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"Anthem spends more time figuring out how to deny a claim than working to fulfill their contractual obligations."

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  

6 months ago

"It is very difficult to get claims reviewed and covered procedures approved. "

Help others find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you?  
Next page
Or use your account on Blog

Error message here!

Hide Error message here!

Forgot your password?

Or register your new account on Blog

Error message here!

Error message here!

Hide Error message here!

Lost your password? Please enter your email address. You will receive a link to create a new password.

Error message here!

Back to log-in

Close