Chelsea and Tottenham dominate PFA Premier League team of the year

  • Chelsea
  • 20/04/2017
Chelsea and Tottenham dominate PFA Premier League team of the year
Chelsea and Tottenham lead the way in the PFA Premier League team of the year with four players each.

The league leaders midfielder NGolo Kant and the winger Eden Hazard, both nominated for the PFA player of the year award, are included along with the defenders Gary Cahill and David Luiz.

Spurs, who trail Chelsea by four points in the title race, are represented by the midfielder Dele Alli and the striker Harry Kane, as well as the full-backs Danny Rose and Kyle Walker.

Manchester Uniteds David de Gea gets the nod in goal, while Sadio Man, of Liverpool and Evertons Romelu Lukaku, the divisions top scorer with 24 goals, complete the lineup.

While Kane and Lukaku are also on the shortlist for player of the year, the other two nominees, Uniteds Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Alexis Snchez of Arsenal, miss out.

Anthony Knockaert is one of four Brighton players in the Championship team of the year. The French midfielder, the Championships player of the year, is joined by the goalkeeper David Stockdale and defenders Bruno and Lewis Dunk for the Seagulls, who celebrated promotion on Monday.

Newcastle Uniteds Jonjo Shelvey, Jamaal Lascelles and Dwight Gayle are included, along with the Leeds United striker Chris Wood, Aaron Mooy of Huddersfield and the Fulham duo Tom Cairney and the 16-year-old full-back Ryan Sessegnon.

Billy Sharps 27 goals for the champions Sheffield United earned him a place in the League One team, along with four team-mates, while John Marquis is in the League Two XI after his 26 strikes helped Doncaster Rovers to promotion.

Eni Aluko was overlooked by England for Euro 2017 but has been rewarded for finishing as top scorer in the Womens Super League with a place in its team of the year.

The Chelsea Ladies striker scored nine goals in 16 games last season but her 102-cap England career looks to be over after missing out on this summers tournament in the Netherlands.

Five players from the champions Manchester City feature, including the England captain Steph Houghton, Lucy Bronze and Jill Scott and Scotland internationals Jennifer Beattie and Jane Ross. Alukos Chelsea team-mate Karen Carney is also named, along with Lionesses vice-captain Jordan Nobbs.
Or use your account on Blog

Error message here!

Hide Error message here!

Forgot your password?

Or register your new account on Blog

Error message here!

Error message here!

Hide Error message here!

Lost your password? Please enter your email address. You will receive a link to create a new password.

Error message here!

Back to log-in